Hump Day & Stress Relieving Atlantic Salmon

Lately I have been very tired during the week and am always longing for the weekend to approach. It is due to the fact that after after four years of University and tones of volunteer experience I have finally found my very first job. Albeit this is a temporary job I have been working for about two months now at D-link Canada as a Product Shipment Assistant. The job title is just a fancy name but basically it means that I help pick and pack orders in the warehouse.  I usually take the bus home from work which takes about 1hr. The bust arrives at 5:30pm and I usually get home around 6:30pm. So today as I was on the bus I was so tired from work that I almost fell asleep and nearly missed my stop. I am always so tired near the end of the work day and by the time I get home I don’t feel like doing anything else but having dinner and going straight to sleep. But since today is officially nicknamed “Hump Day,” the middle of the week which is Wednesday it means that it is already the peak of the work week and there are only two days left to go. But this week is extra specially since Friday is Good Friday which is a civic holiday meaning that Easter is around the corner. It also means I get to finish my work week one day earlier! Hooray! Isn’t that what everyone wants to hear, get the grind of the work week over with faster?

Since there is only one day left in this shortened work week, I want to celebrate by sharing a recipe that I made for dinner last weekend for my parents and brother. It is the perfect recipe, because it is a pretty inexpensive recipe and relatively easy to make and is also delicious. This is a dish I made using fresh Atlantic Salmon which  is one of the best fish to use. The recipe could also be substituted using halibut but it is more expensive. I also made roasted vegetables using carrots, potatoes, and radishes but any vegetables that you like works well. The recipe is perfect because after working for the whole week and being so tired I don’t feel like doing anything on the weekend, but relax. I always love watching Food Network and I decided to cook this dish to blow off all the stress from the work week. I hope you guys enjoy it!

Honey Mustard Glazed Salmon Fillets with Roasted Vegetables (from Food Network)

My Honey Mustard Vegtables with Roasted Veg

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
  • 4 (5-ounce) salmon fillets
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • Cooking spray

Instructions

1. In an oiled shallow baking dish, combine lemon juice, Dijon, honey, and lemon zest.

2. Stir together. Season both sides of salmon fillets with salt and pepper and place in the baking dish.

3. Flip salmon to coat in glaze.

4. Bake immediately or cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for up to 3 hours.

5. When ready to cook, preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Bake 10 minutes or until fish is fork-tender.

Roasted Vegetables

(Can use any vegetable you desire that hold up well when roasted)

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch small to medium radishes
  • about 12 baby carrots
  • (+ potatoes cut in half/ baby potatoes)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • half a lemon

Instructions

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

2. Place the radishes and carrots on a baking sheet and toss with the olive oil, thyme, salt, and pepper.

3. Roast until tender yet firm in the center, about 20 minutes.

4. Squeeze with a little lemon juice and serve.

Leave a Reply

