Graduation and Light N’ Airy Belgian Waffles

DSCF2317

I am finally back with another mouthwatering recipe. Sorry For being M.I.A. for so long but I have been really busy lately. It is that time of year again when many students graduate from high school and university. And I just recently graduated from York University in Toronto after 4 and a half long and hard years. It also so happens that today, my brother is graduating from high school. This means that my family is celebrating two major milestones. For one I am finally stepping into to the real world and learning to finally start making it on my own while my brother is stepping into the world of higher education and being independent for the first time without my parents telling him what to do.

To celebrate my brother’s momentous day, I decided to make delectable waffles for him. Many years ago we bought a Belgian waffle maker but we did not make waffles very often so it was just sitting there in the kitchen taking up space. I always love to order waffles whenever I go out for breakfast of brunch with my family and friends. I love how the waffles were always a soft golden brown and light and airy. I have always wanted to recreate the taste and look at home. So a while ago I got the waffle iron out and found a really good recipe for Belgian waffles online. Once I made them the first time they where an instant hit with my family due to the fact that they where so light and airy. It is a home run recipe every time. So that is why I made them and also because it is one of my brother’s favorite recipe of mine.

There are many different types of waffles but Belgian waffles are by far one of the most popular. They originate from Belgium where they are actually called Brussels waffles named after the region in the country in which they were invented. What makes these waffles different and unique versus other types is that they use yeast to leaven it making for a thicker waffle since they double in volume unlike American waffles which use baking powder as the leavening agent. They are also more light and air since whipped egg whites are also incorporated into the batter.

Belgian waffles are traditionally served as a dessert simply dusted with confectioners’ sugar, spread with chocolate sauce and/or whipping cream and piled high with strawberries, bananas, and nuts. But I find that they can just as easily be served as a breakfast item and taste just as good with butter and maple syrup drizzled on top and fresh fruit is also a good accompaniment. They are also traditionally square shaped but I find no difference since my waffle iron is the classic round shape.

Light N’ Airy Belgian Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg dry yeast (2 1/4 tsp)
  • 2 cups of lukewarm milk
  • 4 eggs (separated)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups of sifted flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 TB sugar
  • 1/2 cup melted butter

Instructions

1. Use the biggest mixing bowl you can find. The batter will eventually double in volume. Sprinkle the yeast over the warm milk and mix well.

2. Beat the separated egg yolks and add them to the yeast mixture.

3. Add the vanilla extract to the mixture.

DSCF2310

4. In a separate bowl mix the flour salt and sugar.

5. Add this to the liquid to mixture in the other bowl (the big one).

6. Mix well, make sure the batter is as smooth as possible. And also add the melted butter.

DSCF2313

7. Using the empty dry ingredients bowl, beat the eggs whites until they form stiff peaks.

DSCF2312

8. Use a spatula to gently fold the eggs whites into the batter until fully incorporated.

9. Let this big mixture stand covered in a warm place for 30-40 min until the batter doubles in volume.

10. Now scoop the mixture into a waffle iron. Any works but preferably a Belgian waffle iron like the one I have that creates the classic “honeycomb” pockets. Make sure the iron is nice and hot before putting the batter in and add some oil to grease the iron to avoid waffles from sticking.

DSCF2315

11. Cook waffles for approx. 5 min or until they appear golden brown. Serve and enjoy with your favourite toppings. I usually just use butter and maple syrup. ENJOY!!

396953_10151888465165451_573849940_n

5 responses to “Graduation and Light N’ Airy Belgian Waffles

  1. I am glad you love my recipe. When I usually make it, the batter yields about 7-8 waffles. And I usually use 1 and a half scoops per waffle to cover the whole surface of the iron,

    I hope your friends enjoy the waffles and let them know about my blog!

  2. I am glad to here that you and your husband enjoyed the recipe. And yes it does yield quiet a few waffles, It is a hit every time when I make it for family and friends and that’s why I wanted to share it.

Leave a Reply

