Inspired by Jamie Oliver’s FoodTube: West Indian Fried Chicken

West Indian Fried Chicken & Sweet Potato Mash

I am back with a recent dinner I made to celebrate the last day of the winter holidays before the stress of school is back especially for my younger brother. He is currently in first year Civil Engineering at the University of Waterloo.

During my spare time I enjoy watching Food Network Canada. One of my all-time favourite chefs is Jamie Oliver who I am sure most of you have heard of. He is one of the most famous chefs in Britain and known globally. I started watching him on the Food Network way back in the day during one of his early shows Oliver’s Twist. The show revolved around him cooking in a small apartment in London as a young chef and where he could always been seen on the streets riding around on a small scooter. Each episode showed him cooking for different people whether it being his friends or family. Fast forward to today, he has had dozens of other popular TV shows such as Jamie at Home and Jamie’s Thirty Minute Meals and his most recent show, Jamie Oliver’s Money Saving Meals. He also owns his own restaurant chain called Jamie’s Italian which I would love to go to one day. I love his rustic and easygoing way of cooking. His philosophy is that simple is always better. As long as it tastes good, it doesn’t have to be perfect.

One of the other things I love to do in my spare time is to go on my computer and watch food videos on Youtube. And about a year ago I came across Jamie Oliver’s FoodTube on Youtube. On this channel, Jamie does a lot of cooking demonstrations showing people how simple it is to cook at home. One of the other things I love about the channel is how he showcases other popular food video bloggers who are know for their own style of cooking. Most of them are also home cooks. This has inspired me to try many of the recipes such as the one in the Foodtube video below.

The following recipe is courtesy  of on of the featured Foodtubers Aaron Craze. I love Indian food and I have always been trying to find a simple recipe that didn’t call for all the myriad of spices that is always associated with this cuisine.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did.

West Indian Fried Chicken

Ingredients

  • 5 drumsticks and 5 thighs with skin on (serves 4)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp mixed herbs (oregano, rosemary, thyme)
  • 1 tsp allspice

Instructions

1. Mix all the spices with the chicken and leave the chicken to sit for 1-2 hrs to let flavours penetrate chicken. You can even do this the night before. For this recipe I used all drumsticks.

2. Shallow fry the chicken (3 pieces at a time, depend on the size of the pan, I used a wok) until crispy and golden.

3. Put the chicken into a roasting tray and in the oven at 350F for 30min to crisp the outside of the chicken.

4. Put aluminum foil over the tray and turn down the oven temperature to 250F and let it cook for 30min- 1hr or until juice run clear.

5. Serve with your choice of sauce. In the video Aaron made a banana guava ketchup to play on the sweet and sour flavours. You can follow his link to make it if you like. I couldn’t find guava so instead I made a simple sauce by caramelizing some onions and adding the pan juices from roasting the chicken. Finally I added a cornstarch, water, and soya sauce slurry to thicken the sauce.

Sweet Potato Mash 

I thought that this would be more flavourful than just serving baby jem lettuce on the side like Aaron did  in the video.

Ingredients

  • 2lbs of sweet potatoes (approximately 3 medium potatoes which serves 4)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/4 ground ginger
  • pinch of nutmeg

 

Instructions

1. Cut the sweet potatoes into 2 inch cubes and put them into a large pot. Add just enough cold water to cover them. Bring them to a boil and cook until tender about 15min. Stick a knife into the center of the potatoes and it should go through all the way with out resistance.

2. Drain the potatoes and return them to the pot on the stove top with the burner off so that the residual hear will help the excess heat/moisture burn off.

3. Add all the remaining ingredients and mash until smooth and creamy. Serve immediately and enjoy while it is still warm!

Leave a Reply

