Canadian Thanksgiving, Autumn Relaxation, & Marble Bundt Cake

SAMSUNG CSC

So I know that it has been a very long time time since I have posted on this blog. A lot has change for me in these last couple of years and I can say that my life has turned 180 degrees. I am slowly trying to get back into the blogging world. I hope have more posts up soon and I am also try to add some different food related content so stay tuned!  In the meantime please enjoy the the following recipe!

Last Monday was Thanksgiving in Canada and it gave me chance to think about all the things that I have to be thankful for this past year. First a foremost I have to be thankful for my mom without her I don’t know where I would be today. I am also thankful for my younger brother who is studying Civil Engineering at the University of Waterloo and is currently on an exchange in Singapore for 4 months. No one can ask for a better brother!

Lastly I can’t forget about my dad. It is hard for me to say this but he passed away a little over year ago after a long and hard 8 years of battling colon cancer. He was in remission for a while but it came back and struck his lungs. Not only was he a wonderful, loving, and caring father he was my best friend. He was always there to answer any of my questions and support me in everything that I did. It was hard to see him in constant pain everyday especially in the last couple of years when he realized that there nothing else he could do.

I remember how my he loved cooking and baking. He would always find new recipes to try. This is where my passion in the culinary world came from. During Thanksgiving we would have our whole extended family (my grandparents and cousins) and he was the one who would make most of the food including the turkey. These last couple of years have a been pretty quite at home and I decided this year to bake a cake to bring back all the memories of being together in the kitchen with my dad.

So during the thanksgiving weekend I was looking in my cupboards at home and sorting through the various cake pans that we have (I didn’t realize that we had so many) and I came across a  bundt pan that had never been used before. I have always wanted to make a bundt cake because I love how it has a fancy and elegant appearance unlike an ordinary cake and it also relatively simple to make. Therefore I decided to bake a vanilla and chocolate marble bundt cake. Vanilla & chocolate are two classic flavours that go well together and I love the look of  a marble cake with the spiral streaks running throughout the middle of the cake giving it a more eye catching visual appeal.

The recipe below is one that I have adapted and modified from one I found online which guarantees that you will get a nice moist cake every time!

Thanksgiving Vanilla & Chocolate Marble Bundt Cake

Ingredients

Vanilla Cake Base

  • 2 1/2 cups of cake & pastry flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup of sour cream (at room temp.)
  • 1/4 cup of whole milk (I used 2% milk and there was no difference)
  • 1 cup of butter of unsalted butter (softened to room temp)
  • 1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs & 1 large egg yolk (room temperature)
  • 1 tbsp of pure vanilla extract or 1 1/2 tbsp or artificial vanilla extract

Chocolate Marbling 

  • 1/4 of a cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp of milk
  • 1 tbsp of unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp of sugar
  • 1/8 tsp of baking soda

Instructions

Making the cake:  

1. Preheat the oven to 350F.

2. Butter and flour a 9.5 inch bundt pan (or spray with non-stick cooking spray).

3.  In a measuring cup whisk the sour cream and milk together.

4. In a medium bowl mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, & salt

5. Using an electric mixer or a hand mixer and a large bowl (this is what I used) beat the butter on medium speed until creamy & ribbon-like.

6. With the mixer running at medium-low speed gradually add the sugar to the butter. Raise the speed to medium-high and continue beating until both the colour and texture of the mixture has lightened. The colour should be pale (almost white) and the texture should be fluffy.

7. Add the eggs and the egg yolk one at a time making sure to beat well after each addition. Add the vanilla and beat for one minute.

8. Set the mixer to low speed and add one-third of the flour mixture until mostly combined. Add in in half the sour cream & milk mixture and stir until mostly combined. Repeat by adding another one-third of flour mixture followed by the rest of the sour cream mixture with the rest of the flour mixture. Mix until everything is well incorporated but do not over mix. Give the batter a final stir with a rubber spatula.

9. Remove 1 1/2 cups of the batter and set aside (this is for the chocolate marbling). You can remove less of the batter if you don’t want the cake to be be too chocolaty.

Making the chocolate marbling:

1. In a medium bowl combine the milk, butter, & sugar and heat it in the microwave until the butter has melted.

2. Add the cocoa powder and stir until there are no lumps and a thick chocolate paste forms. Add in the baking soda and stir again.

3. Add the reserved cake batter to the chocolate mixture and mix until no light streaks remain.

5. Transfer half of of the vanilla cake batter to the cake pan. Spoon half the chocolate batter on top and using a knife swirl the two batter together in a “S” shape. Repeat with the rest of the vanilla batter and chocolate batter.

SAMSUNG CSC

4. Bake the cake for 40 -50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

SAMSUNG CSC

5. Allow the cake to cool for 20 minutes and then flip onto a wire rack to cool completely before serving. You can serve it as a plain cake or if you want to make this more fancy and elegant like a fins dinning restaurant dust with icing sugar or even a chocolate gauche glaze (if you like the extra chocolate) .

It is recommend that this cake be kept for 3 days but I found that after a week the cake was still quite moist! So sit back and indulge in this delectable cake and it sure to be crowd pleaser this holiday season!

SAMSUNG CSC

 

 

Leave a Reply

